The organization was originally known as the Chicora Country Club and founded along the Cooper River
Formed on October 1, 1900, the Chicora Country Club established its first nine-hole golf course along the Cooper River on property leased from the City of Charleston. After the land at Chicora Park was sold for the development of the naval base, the organization rebranded as the Charleston Country Club and purchased Belvidere Plantation, a tract of land on the Neck near Magnolia Cemetery, in July 1901, refurbishing the existing Shubrick residence as a clubhouse and installing a new course of sand greens. In this circa-1906 image taken by photographer Morton Brailsford Paine, golfer A.M. Reed drives off on the first tee at Belvidere during a tournament between the Charleston and Camden country clubs. In 1922, the Country Club of Charleston moved to its present location on James Island after purchasing 225 acres from the McLeod and Frampton plantations. Today, the sprawling property hosts a picturesque course of grass greens bordering the Ashley River, as well as a clubhouse, aquatics and wellness facilities, a golf shop, and tennis courts.